Sunday, November 21, 2010: Joe Uveges with Stephanie Pauline

Joe Uveges and Stephanie Pauline

Joe Uveges’ web site biography says that he “has meandered the path of quiet musical anonymity on Colorado’s front range for more than 18 years now. Raised a farm kid in Schoharie, New York, pummeled by liberal academics at Union College and Catholic University, a grizzled veteran of bar bands and coffeehouses, he should be a burned out skeleton of a man playing Allman Brother covers, tipping lukewarm Coors from a can, and lamenting broken marriages and illegitimate kids. He is not.”

Joe is, in fact, one of the warmest people I know. Obscure, not so much, at least not around Colorado Springs, where he is one of the pre-eminent acoustic musicians in the area. Joe was also the first singer/songwriter we hosted for a house concert (when we lived in Colorado Springs), which we did a number of happy times!

Last year, Joe came to Las Cruces for a lovely concert in the Currys’ orchard. We are hosting him indoors this year, since it will be a bit chilly by the time this show happens in November. Here’s a bit more about Joe in his own words:

My heart is in songwriting. I like to tell a story. I am a folk singer in the non-traditional sense. I like story songs that are heavy on evocative poetry and the emotions evoke a response in you. I like a strong lyric and want the music to be accessible lyrically, melodically and harmonically. I just like songs – great songs. I love harmonies. The favorite song I have written is ‘Little Break.’ It is an engaging, true story with twists and a sweet message. The event actually happened near Butte, Montana. I like songs with hope.

Joe is also a very spiritual person. Regardless of whether you share his Christian beliefs and faith, you will also be uplifted by his positive and hopeful worldview:

For me, music is a mixture of two things. I am an inherent performer and I am completely taken with the music. Music is a creative outlet for me. Next to prayer it is the only thing I do every day. Music is what I use to see myself. It gives me a sense of worth and at the same time allows me to look deeper into myself and see how I measure up. Every day I am thinking about songs. I play with the intention of singing a song.

You are warned ahead of time that you can’t attend a Joe Uveges concert without becoming involved. Joe’s songs and stories have universal appeal, since they deal with life and the human condition, often in a humorous way. Audience members are also frequently expected to sing along. Joe is an ideal house concert performer because he gets such a kick out of connecting with people and he does it so well.

Joining Joe will be Stephanie Pauline, another singer/songwriter from Colorado Springs. She has a beautiful voice and her own songs of life and her spiritual perspective. Having heard Joe sing harmonies with other folks, I expect a beautiful blending of voices from Joe and Stephanie. We hope you will join us for a warm evening of music and friendship.

http://joeuveges.com
http://www.blackroseacoustic.org/encore/enc0303spotlight.htm
http://www.youtube.com/user/jtschida69#p/u
http://www.stephaniepauline.org/index.html
http://www.myspace.com/themorethanmusicband
http://www.youtube.com/user/themorethanmusicband#p/u/

Suggested artist donation $15

Music starts at 7:00 p.m. Socializing from 6:00 p.m.

Light refreshments provided, BYO wine and/or potluck refreshments to share are welcome.

For more information and an invitation, please contact Lee at 575-522-5197 or by e-mail at lasalturashouseconcerts (at) gmail.com.

1 thought on “Sunday, November 21, 2010: Joe Uveges with Stephanie Pauline”

Leave a Reply

